top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Diversions: My Life in 500 Words or Less

Updated: Jan 26, 2023








This week included a reminder for me.

Like many small but meaningful events in my life, this one started out serendipitously. I happened to be express interest in going with Becca when she told me she wanted to go out for her evening walk somewhere new. She wanted to walk a wooded hiking trail.

After some discussion, she chose to walk south on the trail behind the Justice Center. The trail actually comes out on South Mulberry Street and includes an optional path under the road to come out near Pritchard Community Center.

My interest in the whole experience was to be able to take Tybalt and Zorro on an outing, just a short drive because they enjoy such excursions. We discussed Becca taking them with her on the trail, but she said they get too distracted when she walked with them and it caused problems.

No worries. I knew they would enjoy going for a ride. As she got out of the car to start her walk, Becca told me drive to Pritchard Community Center to wait for her in the parking lot. The walk wouldn’t take long.

As expected Tybalt and Zorro enjoyed the entire outing, even when we parked at the community center. We didn’t even have to leave the car.

When Becca got to the community center parking lot she decided to walk a bit around that area. By the time she returned to the car, I had decided to take Tybalt and Zorro for a short walk. I noticed numerous flowers in bloom at the Arboretum & Botanical Garden.

The thing is, I had noticed the flowers when we first arrived. But I hadn’t given them much thought.

When I began walking near the vibrant flowers, I was stunned by their beauty. So much so that I began taking photos as well as I could while holding onto the leashes of two inquisitive Pomeranians.

I didn’t even get to go through the whole garden, but I plan to return. What I managed to see and experience was a much-needed respite from the ugly in the world.

All this made me thankful for the reminder from Mother Nature.

It is so easy to take things for granted. Sometimes doing so makes beauty blend into the background. But that does not mean the beauty is not there.

I needed that reminder. I needed to stop and smell the roses. And the irises. And the lilies. And ... well, you get the picture. I know I did.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page