top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less



On Tuesday, I received a special gift from my sweetie, Becca: an Aztec Death Whistle.

A what?

If that was your reaction, you are not alone. That is exactly how I reacted.

The Aztec Death Whistle, when blown, emits a loud, blood-curdling scream. It literally sounds like someone screaming in absolute terror or agony.

I did a little research, and from what I can tell the purpose of the Aztec Death Whistle is uncertain. Still, some theories have been offered. Some speculate the whistles were used during war to intimidate foes while others believe they were used for specific rituals.

Whatever its purpose, the Aztec Death Whistle (which is known by a few different names), wins the title of most unexpected gift. All the way around.

Before Becca showed me a video last week, I had not heard of the Aztec Death Whistle. This is despite the fact I am working on a novel that includes Mexico as a setting and includes characters with Aztec ancestry. Before she stumbled across the video online showing someone using one, Becca had not heard of this instrument, either.

So what made Becca decide to purchase this item as a gift for me?

The answer to that question is multi-faceted. First, Becca wanted to buy me a gift as a general acknowledgement and celebration of the sale of my short story. Additionally, the Aztec Death Whistle is an item related to my ancestry. Finally, the story I sold is actually part of the novel I am working on revolving around characters from Mexico.

The Aztec Death Whistle I received is obsidian black and designed by Mexican artists. It came with a carrying pouch and even a piece of Mexican candy.

When we tried the whistle out Tuesday, I half-expected law enforcement to be called to our home. That goes for each time we’ve used it since then. I keep envisioning neighbors frozen in fear as they hear what sounds like a woman screaming in the house next door. Then they break from the trance and call police.

So far, that hasn’t actually happened. Maybe I should be more concerned about that than having to explain the whistle to law enforcement. Hmm.

Anyway, I am including a couple of videos with this blog. As might be expected, the whistle sounds more terrifying in person. But the videos give you an idea what the Aztec Death Whistle sounds like.

Check it out. It's a scream.





Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page