top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less

Updated: Jun 11, 2023



Tweety-2 Amplified
.zip
Download ZIP • 871KB

OK. I know how the photo might look to some, but, to be clear, I am not a pervy Peeping Tom.

Really.

No, really.

The cheap binoculars pictured are not to spy on neighbors or any human, for that matter. A little background is in order.

It all started on the morning of May 18. That’s when Tweety first arrived.

Yep. Tweety is the name I gave to a bird that began visiting that day and every day since. (I wasn’t striving for originality when it came to naming the bird, as you might have guessed by now.) Tweety sings from a tree outside my bedroom window at least once a day, and sometimes Tweety also sings from other trees somewhere nearby.

Despite the fact I hear Tweety multiple times each day, I have yet to catch a good glimpse of him or her. Most often, Tweety sings from the huge magnolia tree right outside my bedroom window.

On one occasion, I think I saw its vague shadowy shape among the leaves, but I could not see any detail. I have no idea what kind of bird Tweety is.

But why am I obsessed with this avian visitor, you might ask. Why is this bird so special?

The truth is Tweety doesn’t just sing. Tweety sings like no bird I’ve ever heard. Tweety sings with such a variety in pattern, note and tempo that it stands out from all other bird songs. I mean, I’ve heard birds sing similar in nature, but this? This is different: clearer, louder, longer and more varied.

Tweety doesn’t just sing for a minute or two and then move on. Tweety sings for five, 10 or even 15 minutes straight, without pause, unless something frightens him or her away or provokes silence. Once any threat or danger is gone Tweety begins singing again until he or she moves on for the day or whatever the case may be. Sometimes Tweety moves from one spot to another, but I can still hear the song coming from a neighbor’s tree.

The first time I heard Tweety on that May day, I was captivated. The song was so cheerful and spirited.

In short, Tweety brought me joy. The bird song literally made me smile. I appreciated the song so much that I actually missed it when Tweety left that first day. I was actually a bit sad.

Then Tweety returned the next day and visits every day. I look forward to the visits and, of course, the song. I’ve even managed to capture a recording, which I will try to post with this blog. (You might have to crank up the volume.)

Yesterday I decided to keep those binoculars handy, in case I might catch a glimpse of Tweety. So, you see, I truly have no pervy intent there.

I’m just hoping to catch a glimpse of the small creature that is bringing me such great joy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page