top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less




This follow-up is overdue. I had a self-imposed amends to make to the rock painting community.

You see, on November 10 I posted a blog about having held on too long to a couple of painted rocks that are part of an ongoing activity in the area. The idea is to paint rocks with messages, pictures or artwork and hide them for other to find and re-hide. Or keep.

Though this is simply a fun activity, and I’m sure many finders keep their painted rocks, my previous blog expressed my guilt at having held onto a couple of rocks I had found. I hadn’t done so with intent. I had always planned to re-hide those painted rocks so others could experience the fun of finding them; I simply put it off too long.

In my November 10 blog post I declared my commitment to re-hiding those rocks. I even suggested my penance for keeping them so long should be painting new rocks to hide.

On November 11, the day after I posted the original blog, I actually did re-hide the rocks. I hid them at different public locations.

By now I expect unwary passersby have found them. I hope they brought others the joy of discovery. Maybe they’ve been re-hidden a dozen times since I released them into the wild. Maybe not. Who knows?

What I do know is that I made my self-imposed amends to the painted rock community. It had been overdue, as was this follow-up.

Now, about that penance I suggested performing ...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page