top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less





Like the rest of the country, my sweetie, Rebecca, and I had to make some adjustments in the past couple of years due to the pandemic. Recently, we resumed an activity we had put on hold after making it an annual event for decades.

We went on a camping and fishing trip to Land Between the Lakes.

Our annual trip usually consists of driving to the lakes early in the morning, fishing various spots throughout the day, camping out overnight and resuming the fishing the entire next day before driving home. In 2020 and 2021 we didn’t go. In fact,, I didn’t even buy my fishing license last year because I knew I would not be venturing out regardless of the isolated nature of the activity.

So this recent resumption of what had turned into a tradition for us provided a breath of fresh air. Literally. Specifically for me.

You see, I’m a bit of a homebody by nature, and COVID reinforced that for me. I don’t get out of the house much, and that became even more the case in the past two years.

That’s not to say I haven’t gone out on occasion, but those occasions are the exception rather than the rule.

So last weekend, Rebecca and I loaded our Pomeranians, Tybalt and Zorro, along with our camping and fishing gear and took to the road. We made the familiar trip we have enjoyed for decades.

Though I caught only one small fish, that hardly mattered. I was able to capture a lot of beauty by taking photos.

The outdoor experience recharged us. It invigorated us. It distracted us from our worries.

In many ways it was a reminder for me.

It reminded me of the importance of relaxation and recreation. It reminded me of the joy of time with loved ones.

It reminded me of how the beauty of nature persists despite human struggles and challenges.

It is a reminder I appreciate.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page