top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less






Sometimes a mistake is a special opportunity.

I had never thought of it that way, but leave it to my sweetie, Rebecca Ricks, to demonstrate that truth. A Christmas gift provided the inspiration.

You see, Rebecca and I give each other wish lists for gift ideas. I had seen on Rebecca’s wish list a “cool T-shirt.” That seemed as open to interpretation as anything, and I thought I could find something.

Because the sun and moon motif holds significance for us, I thought a T-shirt with such a design would be perfect. I found one I liked.

It depicted a field of stars surrounding a sun and moon. Above the sun was text that read: “LET THE SUN WARM YOUR SOUL.” Text below the moon read: “LET THE MOON EASE YOUR MIND.”

At least that’s what the text below the moon was supposed to say.

When the T-shirt arrived I noticed the text was wrong. It read: “LET THE MOON LASE YOUR MIND.”

Seriously? Lase? A typo?

The shirt had arrived too close to Christmas to be able to return it and get it replaced in time for the holiday. So I wrapped the gift and presented it. After she opened the gift, I explained I would exchange it for a correct one or refund it if she just wanted to be done with it, whichever she preferred.

To my surprise Rebecca said she wanted to keep the shirt. She said she wanted to get fabric paint and have me correct the mistake. We had noticed the font easily would allow the conversion of the “L” to “E.” My work to make the correction, she said, would make the shirt have even more significance to her because it would have my contribution attached to it.

I was astounded. What a great attitude and an even more meaningful insight. I liked the idea.

So that was it. I had my answer.

A few weeks after the holidays, we ventured out and got the fabric paint. When I began the task of correcting letter I noticed the yellow fabric paint was too dark. It needed to be lightened up, but the paint set I had didn’t include white paint. I used the only thing handy: correction fluid. I used a pin to dab on the paint.

When all was said and done, it turned out pretty well. But even if it hadn’t, it would still have the added significance Rebecca wanted.

What a great way to turn things around: from mistake to meaningful.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page