top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less





I named this blog Digressions because it exemplifies my tendency to digress from my craft of creative writing. Every couple of weeks, as I write this blog, I do so with the intent of putting pen to page (or, in this case, keystroke to laptop screen) my random thoughts, sometimes connected to my writing life but often not.

With that in mind this blog is about pastry.

This should be no surprise to anyone who has met me. Doughnuts have always been a big part of my life. Well, doughnuts and pancakes. And pies. And cakes.

In this case, those delectable foods also are tied to creative writing.

You see, at the beginning of each year I set writing goals. Specifically, for the past few years I've set goals for how many submissions I will complete. I purposely keep the number at a level I know I can accomplish. I knew by doing this, I would have the best chance of meeting that goal, thereby getting a sense of achievement that spurs me to do even more.

The submission goal for 2021 was 12. I figured one submission a month was achievable. I always have to consider the fact that I also have to allot time for fiction writing, reading and marketing my work.

I met my 2021 goal on April 29th. On August 13th I doubled that goal and decided I needed to commemorate the occasion with baked goods.

See how those two things dovetailed?

So, ever the most supportive and wonderful person, my sweetie Rebecca bought a small cake and Mexican sweet bread last weekend. Those wonderful baked goods have been on my daily menu, and I feel duly rewarded for my creative writing efforts.

This, by no means, is to say I believe baked goods are a viable reward for everyone. They happen to be a personal preference.

On the other hand, I do believe at the core of all this is the potentially universal idea that we should acknowledge — each in his or her own way — our achievements, however large or small. The world has way too many ways to discourage us. We should celebrate the things that encourage and feed our souls. At least, I believe this.

So here's to recognizing accomplishments.

May your celebrations be as sweet as mine.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page