top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less

Updated: Jan 28, 2021


A day in the life of a writer can look different from one author to another. As a lifelong scribe, I’ve come to realize I need to work the way that best suits me and accomplishes my writing goals.

So what does that mean for me these days? Well, I’m glad you asked. No, really. I was wondering what I was going to write about for this blog, and I need to finish it so I can get back to my novel.

See? Right there. That’s what it comes down to: my writing day changes more than I change my socks. (Well ... I probably should change my socks more often, but that’s beside the point.)

A typical day is untypical.

Since the summer of 2017 I’ve worked as a writer from home, keeping a Monday through Friday schedule with room for some work on weekends. The first two years, I worked primarily on short stories and poetry. I’ve had the honor of being published during that time, including a short story collection (“A Fable of Freedom and Other Stories,” available at Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, Walmart, Target and wherever fine literary work is sold. And if you act now, you can get a second copy for only twice as much.)

Currently I’m working on a novel, and my daily routine has changed somewhat, but I still try to focus on what I consider the three pillars of my writing life: writing, reading and marketing.

So my writing work day generally looks like this: Monday through Friday, after getting up somewhere between 6 and 7 a.m., I have breakfast with my sweetie, Rebecca, and begin my writing work day between 7:30 and 8 a.m. I work until lunch time and get back to work by 1 p.m. I continue work until about 3 or 4 or so.

But that all varies.

Though I’m working on a novel, I continue to seek markets for my short stories. Some days research for my novel eats up my time.

Though I strive for about six hours of writing work a day, or a 30-hour work week, I sometimes exceed my daily target or fall short. I adjust my schedule for the upcoming days accordingly. Sometimes I get in more than a 30-hour writing work week.

Sometimes I have a blog due. I also maintain four pages on Facebook and three other social media accounts. Sometimes other responsibilities creep into my writing work day, and I have to take time off to address them. And sometimes a sick day interferes with my writing. Often I work an hour or two at night.

My writing day depends on so many ever-changing factors.

In the end, what matters most to me is that I write, that I edge closer to completing my goals, that despite how many times I have to modify my writing day I am making progress.

So, if you’ll excuse me, it’s time to change my socks.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page