top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less

So, amid the numerous changes that have occurred to everyday life for Rebecca and me during the pandemic, at least one thing has stayed the same.

In a word: karaoke.

We have done home karaoke on a weekly basis for years now, and the pandemic didn’t change that. In fact, early on in the pandemic we even did live broadcast karaoke and took requests.

For our sessions throughout the years we’ve focused on having fun rather than emphasizing vocal perfection. This ain’t “American Idol.”

That doesn’t mean we don’t try to do a good job singing. We’re just more interested in making sure the activity is fun, because in the end — at least for me — it is a stress-release. It is a way for me to put away my cares and concerns and replace them with a bit of carefree fun.

Most of the time, Rebecca seems to enjoy the activity, but I know it is more my thing sometimes than it is hers. Still, she takes part without fail, and I’m grateful for her participation because the only thing better than engaging in an activity you enjoy is engaging in it with someone special.

On the other hand, our dogs, Tybalt and Zorro, are usually absent from the activity. They don’t seem to understand the subtle intricacies of karaoke. OK. Basically they’re indifferent to our sessions.

That wasn’t the case about a week or so ago, though. While we were deep into our karaoke session, Zorro seemed to want attention. He pawed at me as I stood behind the amplifier and sang into the mic. That was unusual, so I decided he wanted to join me.

When I picked Zorro up, I swear he looked happy. So much so that Rebecca took photos.

Yep. He looked like one happy Pomeranian.

Rebecca took a turn holding him as she sang, too.

I almost expected him to howl into the mic each time one of us held him. But I think he was just in it for the attention from his humans.

Tybalt just found a spot to lay down away from it all. But we encourage karaoke participants even if it’s just to be part of the audience.

All in all, our karaoke sessions have been an important part of my week that I have enjoyed and look forward to. The pandemic didn’t change that, and nothing likely will.

There’s something to be said for some things staying the same.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page