top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less

So it’s February, the middle of winter, but you couldn’t tell by the weather. Many days this winter have felt like spring.

Spring.

While that might be fine for some, I’m not among those enjoying it. Yeah, as I’ve probably mentioned in columns, blogs, posts, tweets, conversations, soliloquies, I prefer my winter to look more like .... well, winter. Crazy, huh?

Yeah, I want snow. That fluffy precipitation has evaded us for the most part this winter season.

What is so frustrating is that lately the potential for snow has been great. The skies have offered the moisture needed to produce bountiful amounts of snow, but the moderate temperatures have kept precipitation liquid.

In fact, as I type this we are headed into a flood watch beginning tomorrow that continues into Thursday, the day this blog is to run.

Rain.

Rain!

As in “Rain, rain, go away.”

That rain should be snow! Snow, I tell you!

It’s February. It’s the middle of winter. There shouldn’t be 50-, 60- and 70-degree weather. That’s what spring is for.

Precipitation in February should be snow.

But, no. All we are getting is rain.

It makes me think about the opening of a Christmas song: “Oh, the weather outside is frightful.” It’s frightful because it’s rain instead of snow!

Sure, I know not everyone shares this sentiment. Sure, I know some would be happy if they never saw snow again.

I am not one of those people.

Neither is my sweetie, Rebecca.

And that is just another reason we are right for each other. We both prefer a good snow to a day at the beach.

So far we’ve had one snow this winter that actually amounted to anything. (It snowed in November, too, but technically it was still fall.)

Our sole day of snow was about a week ago. It arrived in the morning, and it was mostly gone by late afternoon.

Still, it was enough to create some beautiful scenery. Brief. Quick-melting. But beautiful.

Maybe I’ll have to be content with what little snowfall we’ve had this season. Maybe I’ll luck out and get another smattering before Mother Nature shifts into high gear for summer, mostly skipping over spring as seems to be the case in recent years.

The real concern is that low-snow or even snow-less winters are likely to be more common. That will make this smattering of snow seem like a blizzard.

That is just wrong.

Still, not all signs of winter are giving up without a fight. The forecast is for Friday’s high temperatures to be around freezing.

It’s not the kind of weather everyone enjoys.

But it’s February. It’s the middle of winter.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page