top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less


So maybe Friday the 13th is unlucky or maybe it is just an opportunity to assign blame. Or maybe the concept of luck is just a subjective perception.

On the other hand, the reason this blog is late is less subjective and more a product of a jam packed schedule. Over the course of five days that schedule included a trivia night, family dinner night, a book signing, two readings, two outdoor concerts, dinner with friends and a couple of hours of bittersweet house-clearing at my late parents' home.

For the most part, everything went well. But the Friday the 13th book reading at which I was one of two featured readers did include a one-of-a-kind experience and provided a special memory.

The event was the InKY Reading Series held by Louisville Literary Arts. It was held at The Bard’s Town Restaurant, which seemed fitting because I’m the founder and facilitator of The Bard’s Corner Writer’s Group.

When I began posting I would be reading at the event, a couple of my friends who live in southern Indiana said they would attend. We eventually arranged to have dinner at the venue before the reading, and we enjoyed our visit with Marty, Anna and their children, Emma and Silas.

The reading was in a lounge adjoining the main restaurant, and all was going great. It started off with an open mic, during which several poets read their original work.

When I got to the stage and began reading it went well for a while. Then I heard it: the sound of liquid spilling onto the carpet.

I continued reading because I suspected somebody had spilled a drink. In my peripheral vision I saw someone rush to a table to my far right.

But the trickling wasn’t slowing down. Either that was a super extra mega-jumbo beverage or something else was up.

I shot a quick glance at the area as I continued reading and realized the sound wasn’t from a spilled drink. Water was pouring from the ceiling.

People scrambled to address the situation, and I was told something like this had never happened before. I was asked if I felt comfortable enough to continue.

I was and did.

Eventually the situation was under control, and the rest of program continued. I was commended for how I handled the minor interruption, and it was pointed out that it was Friday the 13th, an appropriate day for the incident.

Despite concern from my hosts, I couldn’t help but take things in stride. In fact, I told my hosts the unexpected waterfall just made my reading more memorable.

Besides, now I can say my reading nearly “brought the house down,” and that’s not a bad thing.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page