top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less


This weekend we sprang forward, losing an hour to a law steeped in history and, according to some sources, void of any real benefit. We might take Daylight Saving Time for granted these days, but it made me think about time in general.

It seems a bit odd and somewhat amusing that we play with time the way we do, springing forward and falling back. But then again we are known to do a variety of things with time.

We pass it, keep it, take it and give it.

We might lose time, devoting attention to something that keeps us from a desired activity. But no worries. Many of us also find time. We find it in order to focus on something or someone important to us.

In at least one sense we are time’s creator and its destroyer. We make time, and we kill time.

Despite its nature, time does not appear constant to us. It can seem to stand still or fly when you’re having fun, but it can be, and often is, managed.

Still, time is said to wait for no one. And, as we know, time is money.

If we are to believe an old adage, time has the power to heal all wounds.

But if we are to believe Albert Einstein, time is an illusion.

Real or illusionary, flying or standing still, time is often a commodity in our lives. We can buy time and spend time.

Time is valuable, but we each set our own price.

Who or what we devote our time to and when we do so are all necessarily subjective. Our ages, circumstances and desires are among factors that play a part in how we spend our time.

As far as I’m concerned, time with loved ones is time well-spent and perhaps the best way to spend time. But it never seems to be enough.

Time has a way of slipping away.

Sometimes I feel as if I’ve wasted too much of it. Sometimes I feel as if I haven’t used mine wisely.

Often I wonder how much I have left. Doubtlessly, others wonder how much they have left. Ironically, we often lose time doing so.

Maybe we are intrinsically tied to time in ways we are not even aware. Maybe we direct its flow in our lives more than we know.

Maybe time just has its way with us and marches on regardless of what we do or how we do it. Maybe time exists only because we conceive it.

Whatever the case, we all, at some point, must make some sort of peace with time, how we use it, how much we have left.

When all is said and done, I’m not so concerned about whether I spring forward or fall back to save it. I’m just grateful for the loved ones there when I do.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page