top of page
  • Writer's pictureakentuckybard

Digressions: My Life in 500 Words or Less

After I became what I’ve jokingly referred to as pseudo-retired and my other half, Rebecca, switched part-time jobs, we have had to adjust to some big changes in daily life. What I didn’t really think about is how much those changes would affect other members of the household, namely our two Pomeranians, Tybalt and Zorro.

While some of our routine hasn’t changed — such as the 6 a.m. weekday alarm and Rebecca and I eating breakfast together about 7 a.m. — other aspects are new. As opposed to her former job where she worked three full days a week and had two days off, Rebecca’s current job has her working half a day five days a week.

My former employment meant I was gone all day each weekday. Now I’m home from the time Rebecca leaves in the morning.

All this means Tybalt and Zorro often have me at home all day everyday while Rebecca does not have two full weekdays with them like she used to. To some extent, I believe they are still a little confused about this.

When Rebecca leaves in the morning, Tybalt and Zorro are in their special area downstairs, and, if I’ve stayed up late the previous night working on my creative writing, I typically go back to bed. The Poms stay downstairs and might or might not be aware I’m still at home.

Just after noon, Rebecca comes home. We’ll eat lunch together while watching a bit of T.V. upstairs with Tybalt and Zorro. Afterward, Rebecca might grab a nap, and the Poms and I stay with her. The Poms will generally enjoy a nap as I watch a little T.V. or do more creative writing work.

A number of variations are possible, too. Some mornings I might be going on three or four hours of sleep but have errands or other work to deal with and don’t get back to sleep after Rebecca leaves. I might bring Tybalt and Zorro upstairs with me during this time, allowing Tybalt to find a secluded spot while Zorro falls asleep next to me on the bed as I work on the computer with the TV on. Other days Rebecca and I might have errands to run outside the home immediately after she gets home.

The routine isn’t as routine as it used to be.

Ultimately, Tybalt and Zorro have been adapting to the changes and even seem to be more playful and have fewer accidents.

My having more time with the Poms has had an effect, too, specifically on Zorro. Tybalt is generally a keep-to-himself kind of Pom who prefers snippets of attention before disappearing to be by himself. Zorro, on the other hand, has always enjoyed staying close to his humans, and because I happen to be the human at home most now, he has gotten accustomed to being by my side.

Pseudo-retirement has unexpected perks.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page